Planned Giving

The Lincoln Legacy Society

The Lincoln Legacy Society was created to honor and recognize individuals who have agreed to support the Foundation’s vision to be the statewide leader in advancing justice in Illinois by providing for the Foundation in his or her estate plan. Abraham Lincoln, the state’s most famous lawyer, left an indelible mark on the Illinois legal system. So too will Lincoln Legacy Society members leave their mark on the legal system through their legacy gifts to the Illinois Bar Foundation.

Planned gifts that qualify a donor for membership in the Society include: lifetime gifts, testamentary gifts and split interest gifts.

By joining the Lincoln Legacy Society, you allow the Foundation to extend its warm appreciation to you, not your executor or trustee, for your generosity and thoughtfulness. Additionally, you will serve as an inspiration to others to make an estate gift and join the Lincoln Legacy Society.

Confirm your commitment to the Illinois Bar Foundation

Membership Form

Support the Illinois Bar Foundation through Planned Giving

Lifetime Gifts

Make a plan to support the Foundation now or in the near future permitting you to promptly receive recognition for your support.

Learn More

Testamentary Gifts

Leave a legacy to support the Foundation upon your death. Some options may provide you with income tax benefits during your lifetime as well.

Learn More

Split Interest Gifts

Leave a legacy for the Foundation after your death but also enjoy some of the benefits now. Split interest gifts can be structured to split the interests in property between a present and a future interest.

Learn More

Make a Donation

Every gift makes a difference. Become a force for greater good impacting lives across the state of Illinois.

Learn More

It is imperative that a potential donor consult with a professional familiar with charitable giving when contemplating the types of gifts outlined here. It is not our intent to give any legal or tax advice as to any particular situation. Rules governing practice before the Internal Revenue Service require that we advise you that any tax advice in this communication (and any attachments) is not written with the intent that it be used, and cannot be used, to avoid penalties that may be imposed under the Internal Revenue Code. Moreover, the laws in this area frequently change. You may need to consult an attorney or other professional advisor. If you want to make a planned gift, contact Executive Director, Stacey Meehan, at the Illinois Bar Foundation (312-920-4683, to begin the process.

Illinois Bar Foundation | 20 South Clark, Suite 910 | Chicago, IL 60603
EIN 37-0810222

Lincoln Legacy Society Members

David and Margaret Berek, Glenview
Perry and Michelle Browder, Alton
Vincent F. and Zina Cornelius, Naperville
Sandra Crawford, Chicago
John W. Damisch, Chicago
Leonard S. DeFranco, Oakbrook Terrace
Bob Downs, Oak Park
Carl R. Draper, Springfield
Gregg A. Garofalo, Chicago
Susan M. Goldberg, Rockford
Hon. Russell W. Hartigan, Ret., Chicago
Mark D. Hassakis, Mount Vernon
Michael Henderson, Peoria
Mark L. Karno, Chicago
Thomas & Eileen Killarney, Chicago
John B. Kincaid, Wheaton
Timothy and Debra Leighton, Bloomington

James M. and Barbara Lestikow, Springfield
John G. Locallo, Chicago
Rev. Dr. Mary L. Milano, Chicago
John L. Nisivaco and Dr. Colleen Fitzgerald, Chicago
Bill & Lisa Peithmann, Mahomet
Mary F. Petruchius, DeKalb
Kristen E. Prinz, Chicago
James Reichardt, Villa Park
Shari R. Rhode, Murphysboro
Hon. Edward J. Schoenbaum, Ret., Springfield
Russell K. Scott, Belleville
David B. and Janet Sosin, Orland Park
Letitia Spunar-Sheats, Chicago
John E. and Terry Thies, Urbana
Donald R. Tracy, Springfield
Hon. Debra B. Walker, Chicago
Nelson Wood, Mt. Vernon